Jund Playtest Files No. 1

Hello and welcome back to The Brewery! I’ve been hosting everything I write lately at Quiet Speculation, so how about some content just for The Brewery here?

I’ve been working on the Jund deck in Extended, and these are some videos I recorded of some of my first games with the deck on MTGO. There will be much more to come, including a breakdown on Quiet Speculation of the Jund archetype moving forward.

A note: I do realize the Sideboard as recorded is extremely lacking. That is one of the points that will be highlighted in the QS article this week, as well as in any videos I make in the future (which, admittedly, should be part of a much less novice look at the deck).

Enjoy!

5 Responses to Jund Playtest Files No. 1

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Jund Playtest Files No. 1 « The Brewery -- Topsy.com

  2. AWilburn says:

    On the putrid leech exchange in the final game you should have been willing to trade Leeches since he has red mana up. So basically you attack, he blocks, you pass, and either he pumps and you kill his guy or they both die. Having them both die is fine in your position and if you don’t pump there most jund players would get confused, pump, and get blown out. You did the opposite and got blown out haha, but live and learn.

    • dtlerch says:

      I’d have to rewatch the video to be sure this is the right spot (I recorded another match against Jund that never uploaded), but I remember a spot where I was holding a Lightning Bolt and basically talked myself into getting blown out in Leech v Leech combat.

      You’re totally right, for what it’s worth 🙂

      Thanks for watching and for commenting. I truly appreciate it ❤

      Dylan

  3. skeeter_eater says:

    I usually go for a swamp instead of a forest with Catacombs. Hate seeing the forest.

    • dtlerch says:

      My next version of the mana base is going to have 2 Forest, 2 Swamp, 4 Verdant Catacombs and 1 Murmuring Bosk. Time will tell if that will be better or just fancy play syndrome!

Leave a comment